Browse this category by subcategory.Pets
Cat
124
Dogs
23
Pets
Two collections, 147 articles, and the assumption that breaks between them
Everything in this section is about living with a cat or a dog. The Cat collection holds 124 guides and covers what an owner needs when something looks wrong: what normal breathing, drinking and sleeping actually look like in numbers, which signs need a veterinarian the same hour, and what the line items on an invoice mean. The Dogs collection holds 23 guides and is almost entirely about food, because almost every question a dog owner types is a quantity question wearing a yes or no costume.
This page covers the layer underneath both, and it exists because of one thing neither collection can own on its own. Veterinary safety information is species-specific in a way that human health information almost never is. An article about ibuprofen written for people applies to every person who reads it. An article about ibuprofen written for pets applies to exactly one species, and applied to the other it can be wrong in the direction that costs an animal a kidney.
That sounds obvious written down. It stops being obvious at eleven at night, in a household with both animals, when the search box returns a page that does not say which species it is about until the fourth paragraph. It also stops being obvious when the honest answer is that a substance is a nuisance to one animal and lethal to the other, which is the case more often than most owners expect.
Who lives in these households
The American Veterinary Medical Association publishes ownership figures from its Pet Ownership and Demographics Sourcebook, and the 2025 edition puts dogs in 42.6 percent of United States households and cats in 32.6 percent. That works out to roughly 56.3 million households with a dog and 43.1 million with a cat, holding about 87.3 million dogs and 76.3 million cats. The two groups overlap heavily, which is the practical reason this page exists rather than an abstract one.
| Figure, 2025 AVMA Sourcebook | Dogs | Cats |
|---|---|---|
| Share of US households | 42.6% | 32.6% |
| Households owning | 56.3 million | 43.1 million |
| Animals in the United States | 87.3 million | 76.3 million |
| Mean number per owning household | 1.6 | 1.8 |
| Annual veterinary spend, per household | $598 | $529 |
Source: AVMA, US pet ownership statistics, drawn from the 2025 Pet Ownership and Demographics Sourcebook.
Read that last row carefully. The veterinary spending figures are published per household, not per animal, and the two species do not come in the same quantity. Cat households average 1.8 cats and dog households average 1.6 dogs. Divide the published household figures by the published household averages and the per-animal gap widens rather than narrows: roughly $374 a year for a dog against roughly $294 for a cat. That division is arithmetic done here on AVMA numbers, not a figure AVMA publishes, and it is presented that way because a per-animal number quoted without saying where it came from is exactly the kind of thing this site is trying not to do.
Two tools sit alongside these collections and they are deliberately separate rather than combined: the Cat Food and Toxin Safety Checker and the Dog Food Safety Checker. Building one tool with a species toggle was the obvious design and it was the wrong one, for reasons the next section covers. The rest of the pet calculators split the same way, down to separate age converters, because the aging curves are not the same shape either.
Five substances where the answer flips between a cat and a dog
These are not edge cases. Four of the five sit in the top ten of what United States poison control services were actually called about in 2025, and every one of them is something that lives in an ordinary kitchen or on an ordinary side table. In each case the answer for one species is meaningfully different from the answer for the other, and in two cases it reverses completely.
| Substance | Cat | Dog | Published by |
|---|---|---|---|
| True lilies and daylilies | Fatal kidney failure from a trace exposure | Minor stomach upset, no kidney failure | FDA |
| Xylitol | Not at risk of hypoglycemia or liver injury | Hypoglycemia above 100 mg/kg, liver failure above 500 mg/kg | Merck Veterinary Manual |
| Acetaminophen | Toxicosis at 40 to 50 mg/kg, signs reported from 10 mg/kg | Signs generally above 100 mg/kg | Merck Veterinary Manual |
| Raw onion | 5 g/kg, the most susceptible species | 15 to 30 g/kg | Merck Veterinary Manual |
| Grapes and raisins | Anecdotal reports only, no published case reports | Risk from roughly one grape per 4.5 kg of body weight | Merck Veterinary Manual |
Every figure in this table is quoted from the source named in the right-hand column, with the full citation in the sources section at the foot of this page. The Merck pages carry review dates between September 2024 and June 2025.
Lilies, which is the starkest one
The Food and Drug Administration puts it in a single sentence: Dogs that eat lilies may have minor stomach upset but they don't develop kidney failure. The same agency describes what happens to a cat in the same paragraph, and the gap is not a matter of degree. Eating a small amount of a leaf or a petal, licking a few grains of pollen off the coat while grooming, or drinking the water out of the vase can produce fatal kidney failure in under three days. Two plant groups carry this risk, true lilies in the genus Lilium and daylilies in the genus Hemerocallis, and the common names of both are attached to a long list of plants that are not either.
There is a clock attached as well. The FDA states that early treatment greatly improves the outlook, and that if treatment is delayed by 18 hours or more after the animal eats the plant, the cat will generally have irreversible kidney failure. That figure is the single most useful number on this page, because it converts a vague sense of urgency into a decision: a cat seen near a bouquet is a same-evening veterinary call, not a wait-and-see.
Xylitol, which is the reversal in the other direction
Xylitol is the one that most dog owners know and most cat owners have quietly absorbed by accident. Merck is direct: Cats are not at risk for hypoglycemia or liver injury from xylitol toxicosis. In dogs it is genuinely dangerous, with hypoglycemia associated with doses above roughly 100 mg/kg and severe liver failure possible above 500 mg/kg, and signs that can appear inside 30 minutes or be delayed 12 to 18 hours depending on what the xylitol was mixed into.
The practical consequence of these two examples together is that a household with both animals cannot run one mental checklist. The bouquet on the table is the cat problem. The sugar-free gum in the bag is the dog problem. Neither is the other, and a page that treats them as one list of dangerous things for pets is a page that has flattened the only detail that would have helped.
Four reasons a species difference exists, and how to tell which one you are looking at
Knowing that cats and dogs differ is not much use on its own. Knowing why they differ is, because the reason predicts whether a rule of thumb will transfer to a substance nobody has written a page about yet. There are four broad reasons, and they behave differently.
One: a metabolic pathway that is present in one species and weak in the other
This is the acetaminophen case, and it is the cleanest example in small animal medicine. Merck states that cats are especially susceptible because they have low glucuronyl transferase activity and therefore have limited capacity for glucuronidation. Glucuronidation is one of the main routes a liver uses to make a compound water-soluble so it can be excreted. When that route is narrow, the compound backs up into an alternative pathway that produces a reactive product, and the damage follows from there.
The numbers that come out of this are stark. Toxicosis in cats generally occurs at 40 to 50 mg/kg, and some cats have been reported to develop clinical signs at 10 mg/kg. In dogs, signs are generally not seen below 100 mg/kg. Even the presentation differs: cats tend toward methemoglobinemia, where the blood loses its ability to carry oxygen, while liver necrosis and jaundice are more common in dogs.
Two cautions belong with this. The first is that a narrow pathway is not an absent one, and the wording matters. Cats are described as having low activity and limited capacity, not none, and writing that cats cannot glucuronidate at all is a simplification that has been repeated into the pet-care internet as fact. The second is that this pathway does not explain every feline sensitivity, and it gets borrowed to explain sensitivities it has nothing to do with.
Two: a difference in how the red blood cells behave
This is the onion and garlic case. The compounds in Allium species cause oxidative damage to red blood cells, producing Heinz bodies and methemoglobinemia. Merck names cats as the most susceptible species, followed by dogs, and puts the figures at roughly 5 g/kg of raw onion for a cat against 15 to 30 g/kg for a dog. Garlic is described as 3 to 5 times more toxic than onion, which is why a garlic-heavy dish is a different question from an onion-heavy one even at the same weight.
Three: plain body mass, with no biology involved at all
The third reason is not a species difference in any interesting sense. A typical adult domestic cat weighs a fraction of what a typical adult dog weighs, so an identical amount of an identical substance arrives at a much higher dose per kilogram. Nothing about feline physiology is required to explain why a square of dark chocolate is a larger event for a 4.5 kg animal than for a 30 kg one. This reason is worth separating out because it is the one that scales predictably, and the one a reader can do the arithmetic on without any veterinary knowledge. Section 07 works through exactly that.
Four: nobody knows yet
The lily case belongs here, and it deserves to be said plainly rather than papered over. The effect is well documented, the species restriction is well documented, and the mechanism is not settled. There is no confidently identified toxic principle and no agreed explanation for why the kidney of a cat is affected and the kidney of a dog is not.
Grapes sat in this category for decades and only partly left it. Merck now names tartaric acid as one proposed toxic principle, following work published in 2022 that linked cream of tartar and tamarind ingestion in dogs to the same acute kidney injury. On cats, the same page is careful in a way that most pet-care writing is not: it records that anecdotal reports of renal failure in cats and ferrets exist, although there are no published case reports in these species. That is not a green light and it is not a red one, and the honest version of the sentence keeps both halves.
The test to apply. When a page tells you a substance is dangerous to pets, ask which of these four reasons it is invoking. If it names a pathway or a cell type, the claim is checkable and probably species-specific. If it names nothing, the safe assumption is that the writer found the claim on another page that also named nothing.
What poison control actually hears, split by species
Theory about metabolic pathways is one thing. What people actually phone about is another, and it is published. Pet Poison Helpline releases an annual list of its most common cases and splits it by species, which makes it one of the few places you can see the difference in behavior rather than in chemistry. These are the 2025 lists.
| Rank | Dogs, 2025 | Cats, 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chocolate | Lilies (Lilium species) |
| 2 | Grapes and raisins | Onions, chives, leeks, shallots |
| 3 | Bromethalin | Chocolate |
| 4 | Xylitol | Vitamin D3 overdose |
| 5 | Onions, chives, leeks, shallots | Ibuprofen |
| 6 | Ibuprofen | Alstroemeria, Peruvian lily |
| 7 | Vitamin D3 overdose | Amphetamine combinations |
| 8 | Marijuana (THC) | Acetaminophen |
| 9 | Anticoagulant rodenticides | Carprofen |
| 10 | Acetaminophen | Grapes and raisins |
Source: Pet Poison Helpline, Top 10 Pet Poisons of 2025, published January 2026. Ranking reflects case volume handled by that service, not severity and not national incidence.
Six things worth reading out of this table
- The overlap is large and the order is not. Six entries appear on both lists. Chocolate is first for dogs and third for cats. Alliums are second for cats and fifth for dogs. The same substances circulate through the same houses, and the two species meet them in a different order because they behave differently around food.
- Lilies are first for cats and absent for dogs. That is the FDA finding showing up in call volume rather than in a laboratory. Two of the top six feline entries are cut flowers, counting Peruvian lily separately.
- Peruvian lily is on the list because it is not a lily. Alstroemeria is a different genus with a different and much milder problem, and it appears in the call log partly because owners cannot tell it apart from the genuinely dangerous ones. A call about a plant that turns out to be safe is still a call.
- Two human painkillers are on the cat list and two are on the dog list. Ibuprofen appears on both, acetaminophen appears on both, and carprofen, which is a veterinary anti-inflammatory licensed for dogs, appears only on the cat list. That last one is a household with two species and a medicine cabinet with one shelf.
- Grapes are tenth for cats. Given that there are no published feline case reports, the most likely reading is that owners call because they know the dog rule and do not know whether it applies. Concern is not evidence, but concern is what generates a phone call.
- Acetaminophen moved up in 2025. The service attributed the rise to an intense flu season, on the grounds that a great many cold and flu medications contain it. The route into the animal is a pill dropped on a kitchen floor, not a decision anybody made.
What this list is not. It is a record of what one paid service was contacted about. It is not a ranking of what kills the most animals, it is not adjusted for how many households own each species, and a substance can be common on the list because it is common in homes rather than because it is especially dangerous. Chocolate sits at the top of the dog list for a reason that is closer to Christmas than to pharmacology.
Same word, different disease
Toxicology is the half of this problem that gets attention. The other half is naming. Several conditions carry a name in one species that means something entirely different in the other, and the shared word does real damage because it makes an owner believe they already understand a diagnosis they have never heard explained.
Distemper
Feline distemper and canine distemper are not the same illness and are not caused by related viruses. Merck states it directly: feline panleukopenia is often referred to as feline distemper; however, the virus that causes disease in cats is unrelated to canine distemper virus that affects dogs and other carnivores. The feline disease is caused by feline parvovirus. Canine distemper virus is a paramyxovirus, described by the same source as closely related to the viruses of measles and rinderpest, which puts it in a completely different part of virology.
The confusion is not harmless. It leads owners to assume a dog vaccinated against distemper is protected against the feline disease, or that a household outbreak in one species threatens the other in the same way. Neither follows. The guide on feline distemper covers the disease itself, and the FVRCP guide explains which of the three letters in that combination shot covers it.
Parvo, where the relationship is real but only runs one way
This one is the opposite problem: the names are similar and so are the viruses, which makes the asymmetry easy to miss. Feline parvovirus is closely related to the canine parvovirus type 2 group. Merck records that currently circulating canine strains, CPV-2a, 2b and 2c, can cause clinically significant disease in domestic cats and in larger cats, while noting that feline parvovirus still causes substantially more feline enteritis worldwide than canine parvovirus does. And in the other direction, the same source states that feline parvovirus does not harm canids. The Merck entry on canine parvovirus adds the piece of history that explains the family resemblance: CPV is believed to have arisen from feline panleukopenia virus, which makes the dog disease the newer of the two.
So the crossing is one-directional. A dog cannot catch the feline virus. A cat can be made ill by the modern canine ones. That is a genuinely useful thing for a multi-species household to know, and it is precisely the detail that a page titled with one species in it will never mention. The feline panleukopenia guide covers what the illness looks like in a cat.
| Word | In a cat it means | In a dog it means | Related? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Distemper | Feline panleukopenia, a parvovirus | Canine distemper, a morbillivirus | No |
| Parvo | Feline parvovirus, FPV | Canine parvovirus, CPV-2 group | Yes, closely |
| Rabies | Rabies | Rabies | Same virus |
Viral identities and cross-species statements are quoted from the Merck Veterinary Manual entries for feline panleukopenia and canine distemper, reviewed June 2025 and updated March 2026 in the feline case.
Why rabies is in that table
Rabies is there as the control case, and it is the reason none of this can be reduced to a slogan about cats and dogs being different animals. Rabies is one virus, it affects both species and it affects people, and the advice really is the same across all three. A page about rabies exposure written for dog owners is not wrong for a cat.
The useful conclusion is therefore narrower than it first appears. Species transfer is not always broken. It is broken often enough, and unpredictably enough, that the only safe habit is to check whether the page in front of you says which animal it is about, and to treat an unlabeled page as one that has not thought about the question. The annual vaccine guide and the guide to what actually passes between pets and people both work through this in more detail.
What carries across species, and what must not
Most owners of two species do the sensible thing and generalize. It works often enough to feel safe. The table below sorts the common cases into what transfers cleanly, what transfers with a caveat, and what has to be treated as two separate questions with two separate answers.
| The advice | Transfers? | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Flea and tick products | Never | Some products licensed for dogs are seriously harmful to cats. AVMA states the rule without qualification. |
| Human painkillers | Never | Both species are at risk, at very different doses, with different organ damage. The feline margin is roughly a tenth of the canine one for acetaminophen. |
| The list of unsafe foods | Partly | Alliums and chocolate are a problem for both, at different thresholds. Xylitol and grapes do not carry across in the way people assume. |
| The list of safe foods | Partly | A cat is an obligate carnivore and a dog is not, so foods that are merely pointless for one can be nutritionally wrong for the other. |
| Core vaccination | No | The core combinations are species-specific and the diseases mostly are too. Rabies is the shared component. |
| Cut flowers and houseplants | No | The single most dangerous group for cats produces mild stomach upset in dogs. |
| Emergency signs worth acting on | Mostly | Collapse, seizures, difficulty breathing and repeated unproductive retching are urgent in both, though what is normal at rest is not the same number. |
| Rabies exposure handling | Yes | One virus, both species, and people. The advice does not change. |
The flea product problem, which is the one that causes preventable deaths
The American Veterinary Medical Association writes it in four short sentences and the repetition at the end is theirs, not an emphasis added here:
Cats are not small dogs. Products labeled for use only for dogs should only be used for dogs, and never for cats. Never.
American Veterinary Medical Association, safe use of flea and tick preventive productsThe underlying pharmacology is documented separately. Merck records that among pets, cats appear to be more sensitive to pyrethroid toxicity, and lists the clinical picture of pyrethroid poisoning across species as salivation, vomiting, hyperexcitability, tremors, seizures, difficulty breathing, weakness, collapse and death. The route into the animal is rarely a deliberate decision to dose a cat with a dog product. It is more often a spot-on applied to a dog in a household where the cat then grooms the dog, or a half-used tube kept in a drawer and reached for later without the box.
The guide to spotting fleas on a cat covers the identification side of this, and the household products guide covers what else in an ordinary house belongs on the same list.
The food lists, where the transfer failure is subtler
People expect the unsafe list to be species-specific and are often surprised that the safe list is too. A dog is a facultative carnivore with a genuinely omnivorous digestive capacity. A cat is an obligate carnivore, which means certain nutrients have to arrive already assembled in the food rather than being built from plant precursors. A vegetable that is a harmless low-calorie snack for a dog is not harmful to a cat, but it is also not doing anything, and a diet built on that assumption produces a deficiency rather than a poisoning.
This is why the two collections handle food so differently, and why the two safety checkers are separate tools. Compare the cat vegetable guide with the dog vegetable guide, or the cat fruit list with the dog fruit list, and the pattern is visible immediately: the same food, two different reasons for the same verdict, and in several cases two different verdicts.
Oils show the same split. The cooking oil guide for dogs is a question about fat and calories. The essential oils guide for cats is a toxicology question about a completely different class of product that happens to share the word oil, and the guide to edible oils for cats exists specifically because the two get conflated.
Turning a milligram-per-kilogram threshold into something you can actually picture
Every published toxic dose in the sections above is expressed per kilogram of body weight, and that is the correct way to publish it. It is also the reason those numbers are hard to use. Nobody weighs the onion. What follows is the conversion, done both directions, so that the figures stop being abstract.
Direction one: how much of the thing does the threshold correspond to
Multiply the published threshold by the body weight of the animal. That gives the total amount at which the source says signs have been reported. Three worked rows, using a typical adult domestic cat of 4.5 kg and two dog sizes:
| Published threshold | Cat, 4.5 kg (10 lb) | Dog, 10 kg (22 lb) | Dog, 30 kg (66 lb) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Raw onion, lowest published figure per species | 5 g/kg → about 23 g | 15 g/kg → about 150 g | 15 g/kg → about 450 g |
| Acetaminophen, lowest reported signs per species | 10 mg/kg → 45 mg | 100 mg/kg → 1,000 mg | 100 mg/kg → 3,000 mg |
| Xylitol, hypoglycemia threshold | Not applicable to cats | 100 mg/kg → 1,000 mg | 100 mg/kg → 3,000 mg |
| Grapes, published guidance | No published case reports | About 2 grapes | About 7 grapes |
Arithmetic performed here on the per-kilogram thresholds quoted from Merck Veterinary Manual in sections 02 and 03. Body weights are illustrative round numbers, not published averages, and the correct weight to use is the one for the animal in front of you.
What that first row actually says
Roughly 23 grams of raw onion against roughly 450 grams. That is a twentyfold difference in the amount of the same vegetable, in two animals that live in the same house and both put their faces in the same dropped food. Twenty-three grams is a modest slice. Four hundred and fifty grams is most of a large onion, and a dog would have to work at it.
The acetaminophen row is the one to remember
An extra strength acetaminophen tablet sold over the counter in the United States contains 500 mg. In a 4.5 kg cat that single tablet is about 111 mg per kilogram, which is more than double the 40 to 50 mg/kg range at which Merck says toxicosis generally occurs, and about eleven times the 10 mg/kg at which some cats have been reported to develop signs. The same tablet in a 30 kg dog is under 17 mg/kg, which is well below the dog threshold. One object, two animals, two completely different situations, and no visible difference at the moment the tablet hits the floor.
This arithmetic is for understanding, not for deciding. A dose below a published threshold is not a safe dose, and the thresholds quoted here are the points at which effects have been reported rather than guarantees of anything below them. Individual animals vary, several of these substances are cumulative, and the published figures come with ranges for a reason. Nothing here is a reason to wait and see.
Direction two, which is where the arithmetic usually collapses
Going the other way, from an amount eaten to a dose, requires knowing how much of the active substance is in the thing. That information is often simply not available. Xylitol is the clearest failure: sugar-free gum, mints, peanut butter and baked goods rarely state the xylitol content anywhere on the packaging, and the quantity per piece varies enormously between brands and even between flavors of the same brand. So the published 100 mg/kg threshold is precise, checkable, and frequently impossible to apply to the object in your hand.
The same problem shows up with chocolate, where the relevant compound is theobromine and the concentration depends on the type rather than the weight, and with anything homemade, where the recipe is the only record of what went in. This is a good reason to treat the phone call as the default rather than the fallback. The people who answer at a poison control service have the concentration data that the packaging does not carry, and they have it for brands as well as for categories.
If the animal in question is a dog and the question is a food, the Dog Food Safety Checker takes the food, the amount, the size of the dog and the symptoms and returns a first-pass estimate. For cats, the Cat Food and Toxin Safety Checker covers foods, plants, flowers, essential oils and household products in one place, which reflects how feline exposures actually arrive. Neither replaces the call.
Who to phone, what it costs, and the clock you are working against
Two national animal poison control services operate around the clock in the United States, and they are not the same as calling a veterinary clinic. They exist to answer the toxicology question specifically, they hold concentration data for named brands that no label carries, and they will tell you whether this is a same-hour problem or not.
| Pet Poison Helpline | ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center | |
|---|---|---|
| Number | (855) 764-7661 | (888) 426-4435 |
| Fee stated on the site | $89 USD per incident | Not stated as an amount |
| Follow-up calls | Included in the fee, per the published wording | Not specified on the page |
| Availability | 24 hours | 24 hours |
Fees and numbers read from each organization on 19 August 2026. Both are subject to change without notice, and the figure on the page at the moment you call is the one that applies.
The price transparency difference, which is worth naming
Pet Poison Helpline states its fee plainly: a $89 USD per incident fee applies when you call or chat with one of their staff experts, and all follow-up consultations are included. The ASPCA page does not publish a number. It says a consultation fee may apply, and frames it as A small fee that can prevent a big bill.
Neither approach is wrong and the ASPCA center is a well-regarded service with an enormous case database behind it. But an owner deciding at two in the morning, with a card in one hand and an animal they are worried about in the other, is making a decision under uncertainty, and one of those two pages removes the uncertainty and the other does not. Recording that difference is more useful than pretending both are equally easy to budget for.
What to have ready before you dial
- The species, and the weight in kilograms or pounds. Everything in the previous section runs on weight, so this is the first thing asked and the thing most likely to be a guess. A recent invoice usually has it.
- The product, with the packaging in your hand. Brand, flavor, strength, and the ingredient list. This is the information the label does not summarize and the service can look up.
- How much, honestly bracketed. A range you are confident about is far more useful than a precise number you invented. Half a packet to a whole packet is a usable answer.
- When. Time since ingestion changes the recommendation more than almost anything else, because several of the interventions only work inside a window.
- What you are seeing. Vomiting, tremors, drooling, wobbliness, breathing changes, or nothing at all. Nothing at all is a real and useful answer, not a reason to delay calling.
- Whether you have already done anything. Particularly whether anything was given by mouth. Inducing vomiting is a decision for the service or the veterinarian to make, and doing it first removes an option they might have wanted.
The case number matters more than people expect
Both services issue a case number, and the reason to keep it is that it links your call to a veterinary clinic. When you arrive, the clinic can contact the same toxicologists, quote the case, and get the treatment plan that was already worked out rather than starting the assessment again. It also means the follow-up conversation, which in the Pet Poison Helpline model is included in the fee already paid, does not have to be reopened as a new incident.
The clocks that are actually published
- Lilies in a cat: 18 hours. The FDA states that early treatment greatly improves the outlook, and that beyond roughly 18 hours the cat will generally have irreversible kidney failure. This is the tightest published window on this page.
- Xylitol in a dog: 30 minutes, or up to 18. Merck records that signs of hypoglycemia can develop within 30 minutes, or be delayed 12 to 18 hours when the xylitol is in something that slows absorption. An animal that looks fine two hours later has not cleared the window.
- Everything else: unpublished, which is not the same as long. Most of the substances in section 04 do not come with a public time-to-treat figure, and the absence of a number in a table is not evidence that there is time.
The general principle both services operate on. The call is cheap relative to the alternative, and it is designed to be made before you know whether it is necessary. An owner who calls and is told to watch at home has spent a consultation fee. An owner who waits until the signs are obvious has, in several of the cases on this page, waited past the point where the cheap intervention was the one that would have worked.
Two collections, and which one you need
Each has its own hub covering the detail this page deliberately leaves alone. Counts are current as of 19 August 2026.
Cat
124 guides. The larger collection, built around the things owners search late at night: what is normal in numbers, what is urgent, and what things cost.
- Start with the Cat hubEmergency triage, normal ranges, ages and vet frequency, and the vocabulary on an invoice.
- Early warning signs a cat is sickWhy acting normal is not the same as being fine.
- Household products that are and are not safeThe domestic version of everything in section 06.
- The cat-safe flower listWhich cut flowers are the problem, and which share a name with one.
- Human medicines and catsGabapentin, acetaminophen and ibuprofen, with the doses.
- How often cats should see a vetA wellness schedule by age.
Dogs
23 guides, almost all about food. The collection answers quantity questions rather than yes or no questions, and works in body weight throughout.
- Start with the Dogs hubThe published dose thresholds in one table, what actually gets reported to poison control, and three claims no veterinary source supports.
- The safe and unsafe vegetable listStart here rather than with a single-food guide.
- The complete fruit listSeeds, pits, skins and portion size, sorted three ways.
- Mushrooms, safe against toxicThe supermarket question and the back garden question are not the same question.
- Chicken bones and what to doThe most common kitchen panic there is.
- Diarrhea, feeding and when it stops being mildWhat to feed and which cases are not manageable at home.
The tools, which split the same way
- Cat Food and Toxin Safety CheckerFoods, plants, flowers, essential oils and household products in one lookup, because feline exposures arrive from all five.
- Dog Food Safety CheckerFood, amount, dog size and symptoms, returning a first-pass estimate and a next step.
- Cat age converter and dog age calculator by weightSeparate tools, because the dog curve depends on size class and the cat curve does not.
- Cat vaccination scheduleFVRCP, rabies and FeLV dates by age, lifestyle and history.
- All pet calculatorsTen tools, including cost, weight, feeding and pregnancy for both species.
The other eleven sections of the site are on the blog hub.
Questions this section gets, with the source named
Are lilies dangerous to dogs?
Not in the way they are dangerous to cats. The FDA states that dogs which eat lilies may have minor stomach upset but do not develop kidney failure. In cats, a trace exposure from a petal, a few grains of pollen groomed off the coat, or the water in the vase can cause fatal kidney failure in under three days.
Is xylitol dangerous to cats?
The Merck Veterinary Manual states that cats are not at risk of hypoglycemia or liver injury from xylitol. In dogs, hypoglycemia is associated with doses above roughly 100 mg per kilogram and severe liver failure is possible above 500 mg per kilogram. The Merck article itself is titled for dogs rather than for animals generally, which is a useful signal on any veterinary page.
Why is acetaminophen so much worse for cats?
Because cats have low glucuronyl transferase activity and therefore limited capacity for glucuronidation, which is one of the main routes a liver uses to clear the drug. Toxicosis in cats generally occurs at 40 to 50 mg per kilogram, with signs reported in some cats from 10 mg per kilogram, against roughly 100 mg per kilogram in dogs. Note the wording: low capacity, not none.
Which species is more sensitive to onion and garlic?
Cats. Merck names cats as the most susceptible species, followed by dogs, and gives roughly 5 g per kilogram of raw onion for cats against 15 to 30 g per kilogram for dogs. Garlic is described as 3 to 5 times more toxic than onion in both.
Are grapes toxic to cats?
There is no published evidence that they are. Merck records anecdotal reports of kidney failure in cats and ferrets after eating grapes or raisins, while stating that there are no published case reports in these species. That is not a license to feed them, and it is also not the established fact that many pages present it as.
Is feline distemper the same as canine distemper?
No. Feline distemper is another name for feline panleukopenia, which is caused by a parvovirus. Canine distemper is caused by a paramyxovirus related to measles and rinderpest. Merck states plainly that the virus causing disease in cats is unrelated to canine distemper virus.
Can a cat catch parvo from a dog?
The current canine strains, CPV-2a, 2b and 2c, can cause clinically significant disease in cats, though feline parvovirus still accounts for far more feline cases worldwide. The reverse is not true: Merck states that feline parvovirus does not harm canids.
Can I use a dog flea treatment on a cat if I use less of it?
No. The AVMA position is four sentences long and ends with the word never repeated on its own. Merck records that among pets, cats appear to be more sensitive to pyrethroid toxicity. Reducing the amount does not convert a product licensed for one species into one licensed for another.
What does it cost to call animal poison control?
Pet Poison Helpline publishes an $89 USD per incident fee, with all follow-up consultations included. The ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center does not publish an amount, stating only that a consultation fee may apply. Both operate 24 hours.
How long do I have after a cat eats part of a lily?
The FDA states that early treatment greatly improves the outlook and that delay of 18 hours or more generally results in irreversible kidney failure. Treat it as a same-evening call rather than a morning one.
Do dogs and cats need the same vaccines?
No. The core combinations are species-specific and so are most of the diseases in them. Rabies is the shared component, and it is also the one condition on this page where the advice really does transfer between species and to people.
My cat eats the dog food and my dog eats the cat food. Is that a problem?
Not as a one-off theft, and yes as a routine. A cat is an obligate carnivore and a dog is not, so a cat living on dog food develops nutritional deficiencies rather than an acute problem, which is exactly what makes it easy to miss. The individual food guides in both collections handle specific cases.
The documents behind everything above
Every figure on this page is tied to the body that publishes it, with the review date where the source gives one, because veterinary reference material is revised and a number quoted without its edition is a number nobody can check. All links verified 19 August 2026.
- Lilies, cats and dogs. FDA, Lovely Lilies and Curious Cats: A Dangerous Combination, last updated 16 September 2021. Source of the statement about dogs, the trace-exposure routes, the three-day course and the 18-hour treatment window.
- Xylitol. Merck Veterinary Manual, Xylitol Toxicosis in Dogs, full review September 2024, last updated June 2025. Source of the statement that cats are not at risk, the 100 mg/kg and 500 mg/kg thresholds and the 30 minute to 18 hour onset range.
- Acetaminophen and other human painkillers. Merck Veterinary Manual, Toxicoses From Human Analgesics in Animals, full review July 2024, last updated May 2025. Source of the 40 to 50 mg/kg and 10 mg/kg feline figures, the 100 mg/kg canine figure, the glucuronyl transferase wording and the difference in clinical presentation.
- Onion and garlic. Merck Veterinary Manual, Garlic and Onion (Allium spp) Toxicosis in Animals, full review and last update September 2024. Source of the species susceptibility ranking, the 5 g/kg and 15 to 30 g/kg figures, the garlic multiple and the oxidative red cell mechanism.
- Grapes, raisins and tartaric acid. Merck Veterinary Manual, Grape, Raisin, and Tamarind Toxicosis in Dogs, full review September 2024, for the proposed toxic principle, the one grape per 4.5 kg guidance and the wording on cats and ferrets. The underlying work is Wegenast et al., Journal of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care, 2022, volume 32, issue 6, pages 812 to 816.
- Feline panleukopenia and the distemper naming. Merck Veterinary Manual, Feline Panleukopenia, full review June 2025, last updated March 2026. Source of the unrelated-virus statement, the CPV-2a, 2b and 2c cross-infection statement and the statement that feline parvovirus does not harm canids.
- Canine parvovirus. Merck Veterinary Manual, Canine Parvovirus Infection, last updated June 2025, for the statement that CPV is believed to have arisen from feline panleukopenia virus.
- Canine distemper. Merck Veterinary Manual, Canine Distemper, for the identification of the virus as a paramyxovirus closely related to the viruses of measles and rinderpest. The susceptible species list on that page includes large felids, which is not the same as domestic cats, and the feline panleukopenia entry above is the one that settles the domestic question.
- Flea and tick products. AVMA, safe use of flea and tick preventive products, source of the quoted passage. Mechanism and clinical signs from Merck Veterinary Manual, Plant-Derived Insecticide Toxicosis in Animals, review August 2022, last updated September 2024.
- What poison control was called about. Pet Poison Helpline, Top 10 Pet Poisons of 2025, published January 2026, for both species lists and the acetaminophen commentary.
- Fees and numbers. Pet Poison Helpline for the $89 per incident fee and the inclusion of follow-up consultations, and ASPCA Animal Poison Control Center for the phone number and the fee wording. Read 19 August 2026.
- Ownership and spending. AVMA, US pet ownership statistics, drawn from the 2025 Pet Ownership and Demographics Sourcebook, for the household percentages, animal counts, per-household averages and per-household veterinary spending.
- Noted and not published. Several claims that circulate widely in this topic were checked and left out because no authoritative source supports them as stated: that cats cannot glucuronidate at all rather than having limited capacity, that grapes are established as toxic to cats, and a common explanation linking feline permethrin sensitivity to the same glucuronidation pathway as acetaminophen. Where a figure on this page is arithmetic rather than a published number, section 01 and section 07 say so on the line.
Scope note. This page describes documents and reference figures as they stood on 19 August 2026, and several of the sources behind it carry review dates inside the last two years, which means they change. Nothing on this page or anywhere on this site is veterinary advice, a diagnosis, or a substitute for a veterinarian who can examine the animal in front of them. The dose thresholds quoted here are the points at which effects have been reported in the published literature, not safety limits, and an amount below a threshold is not a reason to wait. If an animal has already eaten something, phone a veterinarian or one of the two poison control services rather than reading. Figures, fees and ownership statistics are United States ones, and the products, licensing and services available where you live may be different.
